What is Interactive 3D

interactive_3d_2 You have projected yourself into the screen until it is no longer a screen, it is a convincing virtual environment. You are no longer yourself, you are your Avatar. You are dealing with fellow Avatars who have their own ideas. You can see the world and others around you from any angle. And it looks solid, not flat. Where are you?!

I attended a delightful business breakfast this week, where I further experimented trying to explain the terms “virtual environment” and “Interactive 3D.”

One interested listener asked for a website address to “see some examples of Interactive 3D”. He asked, “Do I need to wear glasses?” I said (I am not making this up,) “No, your browser will let you zoom in until you can read it.” He said, “No, I mean, do I have to wear 3D glasses to see your website examples?” He’d been to see the movie Avatar in Imax 3D, for which you wear 3D glasses.

Here was a new fan of virtual reality, curious to learn more. For a brief instant, his and my views of “What is Interactive 3D” had a minor cultural clash until we cleared things up. So it got me to thinking, What is Interactive 3D? Stereoscopic presentations such as Avatar, Wonderland, and Toy Story 3 are movies in 3D but they are not Interactive 3D. Why?

Interactive means:

  • You can talk with the other characters on the screen and influence their actions.
  • You can become one of the characters on the screen, along with your fellow viewers.
  • You have a say about what is going on. You can change the plot. You can change the scene.
  • You have projected yourself into the screen until it is no longer a screen, it is a convincing virtual environment.
  • You are no longer yourself, you are your Avatar. You are dealing with fellow Avatars who have their own ideas.

3D means:

  • You can see the world and others around you from any angle. You can see from the front, side, back, above, below, zoom-out, or zoom-in.
  • You can see your own Avatar from any angle. You can see from inside or outside, literally, your own Avatar body.
  • Your character and the world around you look solid, not flat.

Where are you? You are in virtual reality a la mode “Interactive 3D.”

(A tip of the hat to Keiko for the pix!)

One Response to “What is Interactive 3D”

  1. Bruce Says:

    James

    Glad to be a muse. My resistance gene says that I can do all this live right now and I can smell and feel which one can’t do on interactive 3D.

    My futuristic gene and a dream recently says that this is the future. My dream had avatars being created from real facial images that duplicate reality through motion capture: which is the way they did Avatar. I would look the same in a virtual world as I do now. I could even pretty my self up the way Bruce Willis did in a recent move Surrogates.


Leave a Reply

