Simpatico

simpatico image I hope to further learn from my latest experiences, new ways to stay usefully connected with people with whom I am not, in fact, in harmony, but with whom, in some sense, I am interdependent for future successes. This could be a universal rather than personal issue.

Simpatico means “exhibiting or inclined toward harmony.” In its simplest sense, it describes two people or two enterprises who are likely to get along well together.

Is simpatico a prerequisite for partners? The short answer is, “maybe.” The long answer is, “I dunno.”

In the last two years I’ve completed several projects where I thought I was simpatico with the others, but I learned instead (in the process of completing the work) that I was NOT. We were simpatico enough to get the project launched and out the door, but not necessarily enough to want to work together again. I’ve had this happen with folks before starting a new initiative, but it’s been startling to find that this can occur after a project is well along its way and when it’s too late to let go of the tiger’s tale. It’s do or die, finish it or lose momentum. Grit your teeth and cooperate. Ay caramba!

Call me speculative, this brings to mind data and metaphors of marriage and children. For years, I’ve regarded “project” as another word for “child,” and vice versa. When two people, or two enterprises, get together to create a new child, or new entity, much of the dynamics of family apply. Many organization development consultants assert that family (read, mother father daughter son) dynamics fully apply to organizations and governments. My thoughts are, “yes, family dynamics DO apply to enterprises as well as individuals BUT… is that all there is?”

Somewhere after our species homo sapiens emerged, around 200,000 years ago, along came representational versus physiological evolution in the form of BURIAL (-100,000), MUSIC / ART (-35,000), and LANGUAGE (-15,000). These cultural innovations fundamentally changed, I think, the nature of being human so as to no longer necessarily be totally driven and bound by physiology. This concept has of course been addressed in Future Shock and other works.

So I hope to further learn from my latest project experiences, new ways to stay in connection with people with whom I am not, in fact, in harmony, but with whom, in some sense, I am interdependent for future successes. This could be a universal rather than personal issue.

References

Leave a Reply

