Death, Pain, Art, Art of the Possible

federations bujold lee Ferrell frowned uneasily. “I still think he ought to be dumped with the rest of the garbage.”
“Not at all,” said the medtech. “Think of all the work he represents on somebody’s part. Nine months of pregnancy, childbirth, two years of diapering, and that’s just the beginning. Tens of thousands of meals, thousands of bedtime stories, years of school. Dozens of teachers. And all that military training too. A lot of people went into making him.” p. 83
“Don’t be afraid,” she said. “The dead cannot hurt you. They give you no pain, except that of seeing your own death in their faces. And one can face that, I find.”
Yes, he thought, the good face pain. But the great – they embrace it. p. 86
Aftermaths, Lois McMaster Bujold, 1986

“I’m no general,” Swan said, “but I have a battle to fight and music to write.” p. 159
“If I dwell upon the impossible, I achieve nothing. But if I do what I can, where I can – I might get somewhere.” 163
Swanwatch, Yoon Ha Lee, 2009

Federations, John Joseph Adams (Editor), 2009

Leave a Reply

