how many?

How many advisors, confidants, and protégés does one person need to survive, achieve, be happy, and self actualize in life? Your mileage may vary but here’s my answer to date: 10ish

Advisors for me are people with certifiable expert knowledge and here I have 3ish: Physical (1ish), Emotional (1ish), and Intelligence (miscellaneous other).

Confidants for me are people I can entrust, 50-80%, with what is going on with me and here I have a net additional 2ish: Friend (1ish) and Miscellaneous Other.

Protégés for me are people related by blood and mission and here I have a net additional 4ish: Spouse, Child, Child, and Miscellaneous Other.

Sum: 9ish (which is almost 10ish)

As an introvert, 10ish is a richly resourceful number for me (“ish” and “miscellaneous” mean as few as one to as many as 10)

I am curious how my extrovert friends make the tally.

Leave a Reply

