I’d like to think of giving death a nod as a trial close

accounting principlesYears ago, when I worked directly in a business unit (“directly” is important as I was an information technology guy and the assignment opened my eyes,) I learned that, each month, it would go through a “trial close.” This meant that the accounting department would total up all the income and expenses with all the receipts and invoices for the month and see… just see, mind you… if the records all matched up and the business unit would know, mostly exactly, how much it had made or lost or if it had held even.

The exercise was a “trial close” because usually… just usually, mind you… things would not match up and some quick housekeeping and inquiries and corrections were required. Typically, in 2-3 days, the “final close” would be successfully calculated and booked.

So I’d like to think of giving death a nod as a “trial close.” Are my receipts and expenses in balance? Have I given as well as received with respect to others? Have I balanced the benefits others have bequeathed me with those I have generated through appropriate investments and activities for now and the future?

This may seem… just seem, mind you… as a rather business point of view. However there are short- and long- term business points of view. My point of view is long. Very long: will our grandchildren’s grandchildren’s grandchildren be OK? – that long.

I’d like to think of giving death a nod as a trial close. Perhaps not as often as monthly. Certainly more often than say a decade or too. Closure seems needed at key life timeline points say… every 20 to 30 years according to one methodology. That is often enough to cover youth years, productive years, wisdom years and more

image credit

Leave a Reply

