Rank Corporate Ranking Systems

A year (or so) after I started my corporate career (at the tender age of 25), I discovered that my company’s ranking system (to give a grade to determine subsequent raises and/or promotions) was rank (having a foul or offensive smell). Why was it rank? Because I had entered it without understanding it. Having put my foot in it, I chose to outlast it as long as I could (I thought that would be a mere 5 but it turned out to be yikes! 25 years yay me! ; ) ).

That said, rank corporate ranking systems are as inevitable (and rank) as death and taxes, so, be aware and persevere.

Leave a Reply

